Conversational Optimization: Buenas Disculpe

Mexico Flag

Just returned from a trip to Mexico. Not resort Mexico… but real Mexico.

Being the conversational nerd that I am, the biggest thing that I appreciated about Mexican culture is the structure of their introductory language and the advantages that it has over English.

“Disculpe”

Disculpe > Excuse Me

Discuple is my favourite Spanish word. The English equivalent to “Excuse me” is used to politely begin an inquiry with a stranger.

I feel that the phrase “Excuse me” has regressed due to its more sarcastic uses. Just think about the ways that “Excuse me” can be used in an impolite, rude, or condescending way. No such negative flavours exist for “Discupe”.

I believe that we English speakers need a purely positive alternative to “Excuse me” and I think that we should look into stealing the use of “Disculpe”.

Buenas Dias / Tardes / Noches

Buenas <blank> is a great excuse to speak to almost every stranger that you pass. It seems that most situations in Mexico call for this obligatory greeting. From passing someone in the hallway, to greeting an old friend.

Good Morning – Only really used to acknowledge waking up and starting your day.

Good Afternoon – Seemingly reserved for formal messages or introductions to speeches.

Good Night – Only used as a period in the final hour of the day before sleep. Picture saying goodnight to someone at 8:30pm while walking down a hallway… just doesn’t feel right. You could argue that Good Evening is the true equivalent to Buenas Noches, but Good Evening has the same challenges as Good Afternoon.

 

The global language of English could definitely take some pointers from its more colourful, latin cousin.

-Cheers.

PS. Cheers beats Spanish “Salute” all day 🙂 So we have that going for us.

 

Leave a comment